top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The ABC's of Illness and the Benefits of Yoga


We've got quite the alphabet soup of disorders going on in our household. In my books, I write about what it's like to live with someone who suffers from Combat PTSD. I don't admit to something else too often though. I suffer from something called "Ankylosing Spondylitis" or "AS" for short.

Like Combat PTSD is a lifelong mental condition, AS is a form of arthritis that resides in the auto-immune category like rheumatoid arthritis and is lifelong as well. It is a genetic condition that is inherited and the symptoms of it are joint pain, eye conditions that can blind you, possible heart conditions and skin disorders like psoriasis. However frightening all of these things sound, it is a manageable illness - if you're willing to do a few things to keep it at a dull roar.

One thing that my Combat Vet and I discuss on the regular is what we can do to help both of us in our daily fight against our respective conditions. One thing that we like to do is explore alternative therapies for our issues. In addition to taking vitamins, we also have quite the array of home exercise equipment. However, you don't need a truckload of exercise equipment to do one of the most simple and refreshing exercise programs to help with your illness - yoga! We both enjoy yoga for it's pain relieving and meditative qualities. (Mike likes it for something else too though - girls in yoga pants but that's another subject entirely.)

Anyhow, after taking classes at several different venues and practicing it for years, I'd have to say that my favorite place to do yoga is in my own home. I've explored many videos and looked at different forms and I'd have to say that Rodney Yee's videos through Gaiam are THE ABSOLUTE BEST!

However, before I get ahead of myself, I have to stress to you that you need a GREAT yoga mat - even if you have nice, thick carpet. Not only does it help you get more cushion, it also helps keep your feet where they are supposed to be while you are doing your workout! I suggest that you get a premium yoga mat if you have any back issues. Bare spine on hard floors hurts! The longer, the thicker and the prettier, the better; if you ask me! I really do like all things Gaiam and that's why I'm recommending their yoga mats too. However, if you see a nice one at a discount store, don't be afraid to pick it up! That's how I first found my yoga guru, Rodney Yee!

One of the toughest things that both of us have to deal with health wise besides our alphabet soup of disorders is that as we enter middle age, we are a little bit fuller in the middle than we would like to be. Mike's sporting the "Dad bod" and I'm working very hard to be able to still pull off a bikini. For this reason, I love the Rodney Yee "Abs Yoga for Beginners" because it really does strengthen your abs as well as it's not super difficult to do. Then there's this one move in there, that ooohhhh, it feels oh so good on my back! This video is sooo relaxing and calming too! I love it!

Whatever your health issues are, yoga is an awesome way to alleviate pain, create a Zen atmosphere and get you on the right track to having better health. I'm simply amazed at the benefits that it has for both of us. Not only does it relieve pain, but it also does wonders for the anxiety that PTSD creates.

Either way, YOGA is the holistic and calming way to go for many illnesses.

Btw, this blog is MONETIZED so if you happen to buy anything through the links on this and other pages, the editors of this site will get a little cold hard cash! However, that doesn't mean that we will give out fake reviews. If we don't like it, it doesn't get featured. Enough said!


bottom of page