top of page

Call BS & Be Like D.T. #USMC #Veteran Needs Your Support!

This morning I woke up and opened up my Google Cards like usual to see what the latest news is. One of the cards was from ABC NEWS and stated "6 months in, record low job approval for Trump: Poll". I was like...hmmm... not according to my Twitter feed. That got me thinking. How much bullshit is out there that really doesn't need to be said? How many lies are told that need to be refuted? When are we going to STAND UP and say we've had enough? Not on social media but in "real talk"? Then it dawned on me. We NEED to start a campaign of not just complaining and refuting on social media but also anywhere that we know that we can make a difference. Mike and I had a conversation last night about all of the retweets and support we've gotten regarding his fight with the City of Madison Heights, Michigan. We are both thrilled that we have so much support. However, it's social media support and support through the 1st Batallion of 3rd Marines that Mike served with. However, we don't think that the City of Madison Heights knows that so many people across the country think that it's absolute bullshit what they've done to him. This lack of knowledge allows them to be RELENTLESS in their pursuit of not allowing a man, a highly decorated Combat Vet, mind you, to live peaceably in his home. Personally, I've had enough. I bet y'all can imagine the amount of chaos this has created in not only our relationship but in our lives in general. I'm getting calls at work that our home has been raided. Not once, but twice in the last month. I'm coming home on lunch to "check the temperature" of my Combat Vet and make sure he's not having any bad thoughts. I've had to explain to my bosses about all of these incidents. We've also had to explain to my 75 year old widowed dad about all of this as well. He gets the PG-rated version though. I don't want to add further stress to his already precarious health. Like Mike, my father is a Veteran and served during Vietnam. He doesn't get what's happening to Mike either. This isn't fair. Sure, Michael has a problem of having too much stuff. However, many Combat Vets with PTSD do have a tendency to be a "prepper" but by no means does his "stuff" cause any harm to anyone else. Last time, I checked, building materials are ALLOWED when you have a permit to fix your home - and your stuff is organized. It might be unsightly to those that are in HIS backyard. But after all, it is HIS backyard. Not the backyard of the Madison Heights Police Chief nor the city attorney. Not only that but it's HIS stuff. What gives them the right to take it away? They feel they do. Apparently. They feel that because Michael doesn't have the resources to fight them, they can do whatever they want to him. They take the moral high ground and say "WE TOLD YOU TO DO THIS" yet they don't do it to other residents. Just take a look at our street and the several surrounding it and you can see what I'm talking about. Michael is on their radar. One of my Twitter buddies wrote me and said "They are stealing even more from him" when I sent him my last blog about the most recent incident at our house. It's true though, isn't it? If you take something that doesn't belong to you, that's stealing. Thats pretty clear from the Biblical times to the present. Why are we allowing a city to steal from its residents? The only answer to this I have is that because we have ALLOWED our politicians to be corrupt. Just look at the changes with the Trump administration to prove it. Donald Trump has called bullshit on these sort of actions across the board. We need to as well. What can we do about it? The answer is easy, but oh, so hard for many people to put into action. Be like Donald Trump. When I say this, what I mean is that we need to let these government agencies know that we are not gonna take it anymore. This is what Mike does every time they haul him back into court. He tells them what they are doing IS WRONG. Their response is (get this) to throw him in jail. Cumulatively, Michael Russo has spent over ONE YEAR of his life IN JAIL for mostly land use issues. They even gave him 30 days for not having trim on a window. What the hell is that? I'll be honest with you. I could scarcely believe these stories when I first met Mike too. However, since then I've seen all of this up close and personal. It's the God's honest truth. It's almost comical that a city would have such a vendetta against one BROKE and BROKEN Combat Vet. Many people have asked us how can they help. Money to hire the biggest lawyer in town would help. But then again, why should our supporters PAY to have Mike left alone? Isn't that a form of extortion by the city? There's a way that you can help and not spend a dime. You can help us call "bullshit" on this city. You can email. You can write them a letter. You can give them a call. "Please" and "thank you" are always free. Seeing as I write for a living, I'll even give you a template that you can copy and paste: Dear City of Madison Heights, Mayor Hartwell and Chief Corey Haines, I am writing in support of Michael Russo. I find the harassment of him to not only be un-American but also a violation of his rights. Michael nearly sacrificed his life in Iraq as a Combat Veteran. He is an American hero. Why is it that you insist on treating him as a zero? As a patriot and as an American, I respectfully ask that you cease all of the harassment of this brave man and start acting civilized towards him The good Lord said "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you". What you you are doing to Michael Russo is a sin against humanity and a shame and embarrassment for those of us who support our Veterans and our President. Please do the right thing and cease these actions immediately. Sincerely- YOUR NAME YOUR CITY AND STATE Contact Information: City of Madison Heights 300 West 13 Mile Road Madison Heights, MI 48071 Main phone number: 248-583-0826 Police station main phone number: 248-585-2100 City manager phone number: 248-583-0829 Email: webmaster@madison-heights.org Will this help? I honestly don't know. However, what do we have to lose at this point? They've taken his freedom. They've taken his cars. Hell, they've even taken his rabbits at one point. What else can they do? I'm actually afraid to find out. My name is Leilani. I'm living in fear daily of a city that won't quit. My boyfriend has Combat PTSD.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page